Turkey Cake

I am hosting Thanksgiving again, which is very fun, and a lot of planning. I am trying to be less overly ambitious in order to enjoy the day, instead of running around crazy and wanting to pass out before the turkey is done in the oven.

That being said, I really, really, really, really, really wanted to make turkey cupcakes from the “What’s New Cupcake” book by Karen Tack and Alan Richardson. Well, let’s clarify. I wanted their ridiculous cuteness factor to grace my kitchen table at Thanksgiving. I knew looking at it that it would require much more patience than I had. I would have had to bundle about an entire week and a half’s worth of patience to even begin to fathom diving into the details of these things.

But you know when you just want something oh-so-badly?

I decided to make a turkey cake.

I went with Martha Stewart’s tried and true yellow cake recipe, times one and a half. Two 9-inch round cake pans (why-oh-why don’t I have 8-inch ones????) and another random round shaped smaller baking ramekin (not so ideal either) for the top part to keep the turkey nice and plump. I used about 80 square caramels, using the technique in the book to microwave the caramels and then roll them out. They suggest microwaving 4 at a time. I suggest microwaving however many can fit on the plate. The legs are pretzel rods, with a kind of creepy amount of melted caramels wrapped around them.

Happy Thanksgiving! I am thankful for so much, including the fact that this turkey cake is now out of my system!

One thought on “Turkey Cake

Leave a Reply

